climate change and policy change

My neighbor came by for coffee yesterday. Brought me a sample of his alfalfa honey. He had sent his colonies from Pitt Meadows to Alberta to get this honey. It was white and finely granulated. Makes a good base for creamed honey. He was changing his agricultural practices because of the danger of flooding. "I can move my bees because they are on wagons and I can move my chickens but how can you move cattle?" he asked. I felt helpless. I could see his point. "Do you know that they haven’t raised the dikes even though the arctic ice is melting?",he asked. I could see I was right out of the loop. "Arctic ice is sea ice", I suggested, "It’s like a cube of ice in a glass-the level doesn’t change in the glass when the ice melts." He looked dubious. "Well" I said, "you can take heart from the fact that antarctic sea ice is increasing" I thought better than to suggest the extra water in the north could flow south to where it would be sequestered in antarctic ice. We moved on to some Elliot blueberries that he wanted and I had some extras.
The thought struck me. In the bastions of power in Ottawa some other great minds were planning policy change because of climate change. Isn’t it good to be in safe hands.
 
My neighbor can set his mind at ease. Dan from Pitt Meadows has the answer:

"extra water in the north could flow south"

Yes of course!  Water flows down hill.  We don’t have to worry about flooding.  It’s people in the Southern hemisphere that are in for deep trouble.

This entry was posted in climate. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to climate change and policy change

  1. D says:

    "extra water in the north could flow south"
    Yes of course!  Water flows down hill.  We don\’t have to worry about flooding.  It\’s people in the Southern hemisphere that are in for deep trouble.

  2. Josh says:

    It\’s also nice not to be bound by the dictates of proper punctuation?

Leave a Reply

